Start Your Engine

Hello everyone! My name is Kirby N. McKinney. Since this is my first entry, I thought I’d start by telling you my motivation behind this blog. Simply put, I want to see people reach their full potential, their God-given purpose. There was a time in my life where things weren’t going as well as I thought they should. I was depressed and had lost hope. After trying several methods to cope with my struggles, I’ve discovered that the only way I’ll ever truly achieve fulfillment and success is to look to Jesus Christ as the Lord of my life and follow his lead. Oddly enough, I also learned that it’s possible to be a Christian and still be lost when it comes to the things of God. I was a Christian during the hard times, but it wasn’t until years later I recognized that I needed to cooperate with God to actually see a change in my life. Cooperation guarantees that life as a Christian can be more than just having a free pass into Heaven after this life is over. Christianity is freedom … privilege … a vibrant life. I would love to see everyone come out of the wilderness and step into the light of Christ.

Many people have taught and preached things about Christ that simply are not biblical. I always say, “If you can’t find it in the Bible, don’t believe it.” Reading and understanding the Word allows you to be free from deception. Living the Word allows you to realize the life you were meant to have. It’s one thing to read the Word and build your faith, but it’s a totally different thing to live the Word and act on that faith. James 2:26 says that faith without works is dead, while Daniel 11:32 reminds us that those who know God will display strength and take action. In its most basic form, being a successful Christian is two-fold. You HAVE FAITH and TAKE ACTION. This dynamic duo is the key that unlocks everything God has for you! I realize that as long as I’m only believing, without taking action, I’m only fooling myself. How can I expect my car to take me where I need to go if I never put the key in the ignition? Likewise, why should I expect Godly results in my life if I never act on what I know? Many of us are frustrated that God hasn’t come through on his promises, but the real culprit is ourselves. Often God is waiting on us to act so He can move us to the next level. Cooperation is the key.

Is following Him the easiest thing in the world? Not always. Following His lead may sometimes require us to leave our comfort zone. There will also be times when you are challenged to address your own insecurities and face them with boldness. Being a Christian is not for the faint of heart. It may not always be easy, but it’s ALWAYS worth it! If you or anyone you know has an interest in living their best lives, stick with this blog. I don’t pretend to know everything, but what I do know I’ll share with you through the assistance of the Word of God. I hope you’ll gain a better understanding of Christ and your life in general as we take this journey together!

One thought on “Start Your Engine

Leave a Reply

